top of page



The mission of MSA is to promote the growth and development of the field of metabolomics, particularly in South Africa (and, by extension, in Africa); to promote and facilitate relations and collaborations among scientists in the field and related sciences; and to facilitate connection between academia, government and industry. MSA is established to improve the profile of metabolomics research and technology in South Africa and to foster networking, training, information sharing, mentoring, and career opportunities.


  • Provide the opportunity for association and collaboration among scientist in Metabolomics and in related sciences and connections between academia and industry in the field of metabolomics.

  • To provide opportunities for presentation of research achievements and for workshops.

  • To promote the publication of meritorious research in the field.

  • To carry on any other activity in support of and to benefit the above purposes.


The committee was formed with at least one representative from institutions that have active metabolomics research and development programs. 


  • Dr Fidele Tugizimana (University of Johannesburg) – Chairperson 

  • Prof Duncan Cromarty (University of Pretoria) – Deputy Chairperson

  • Prof Du Toit Loots (North-West University) – Secretary 

  • Dr Aurelia Williams (North-West University) – Deputy Secretary 

  • Dr Wilma Augustyn (Tshwane University of Technology) – Member 

  • Prof Geoffrey Candy (University of the Witwatersrand) – Member

  • Dr David Tabb (Stellenbosch University) – Member 

  • Mr Molati Nonyane (African Centre for Gene Technologies) – Member

  • Prof Gerhard Prinsloo (University of South Africa) – Member.

  • Dr. Zandile Mlamla, University of Cape Town, RSA

bottom of page